Book Reviews

Book Review: “Supernaturally” by Kiersten White

8581936
Original book cover

Title: Supernaturally (#2)
Author: Kiersten White
Genre: Young Adult Paranormal / Fantasy
Series: Paranormalcy Trilogy
Publicated: July 26, 2011
Pages: 336
Publisher: HarperTeen
Book: Library book
My rating: 6/10

SYNOPSIS:
Evie finally has the normal life she’s always longed for. But she’s shocked to discover that being ordinary can be…kind of boring. Just when Evie starts to long for her days at the International Paranormal Containment Agency, she’s given a chance to work for them again. Desperate for a break from all the normalcy, she agrees.

But as one disastrous mission leads to another, Evie starts to wonder if she made the right choice. And when Evie’s faerie ex-boyfriend Reth appears with devastating revelations about her past, she discovers that there’s a battle brewing between the faerie courts that could throw the whole supernatural world into chaos. The prize in question? Evie herself.

So much for normal.

Screenshot_2016-03-24-14-14-46-1
Lithuanian version of “Supernaturally”.

REVIEW:
When I first time heard about Kiersten White I was about 16-17 years old. I saw “Paranormalcy” accidentally on book store with good price, so I bought it. It was fantasy genre and I didn’t care about the details at the moment. And I have to say that I really enjoyed first book and I couldn’t wait for opportunity to read the second one. However, it took me about even 3 or 4 years to get a chance for that. Again, before taking “Supernaturally” from library I didn’t thought twice. I loved first book and I felt sure that this one will be even better. Sadly, because I had my expectations pretty high I felt quite disappointed.

One of the worst things, I couldn’t find connection with Evie anymore. Even I had a blast reading about her life and adventures in first book, I couldn’t understand that girl anymore. Her choices just made me feel little uncomfortable at some points. It’s like Evie don’t know how to make a good choice. She built all that tower of lies and expected what? But let’s start from the begging with some details.

Book starts with scene in school. Evie dream about going to the real school, finding new friends and just normal teenager girl life. However, things didn’t go as planned. Soon girl figured out that normal life is, well, quite boring and gym classes are like nine circles of death. So, I didn’t felt surprised that soon IPCA showed up and invited her come back work for them. I mean, what else could this book be about. Of course about fighting monster who don’t go along with international rules. What I didn’t understand, why Evie choosed to lie to her boyfriend and friends. Yes, neither Land or his dad like the IPCA, but she really could have talked honestly with them and find a compromise. It wouldn’t be easy, but without the consequences. I think it’s worth of working things right way. But of course Evie went thru easier way or at least it’s looked that way at first.

Moreover, when Evie got caught (guess what?) she went thru the same road of lying to the people she love. The problem is that this girl understood that she is going to regret that and really felt bed about it. Even I felt bad, because Lend and his father take care of her, when Evie had nowhere else to go. It was hard to read about betrayed Lend. Specially, when Evie walked out of that damn fearie hole with Jack and found Lend on her bed. My heart break just a little at that moment. However, at the same time I was quite glad that things went wrong for her. That stupid girl deserved what she get. I wish she would be the same bad*ss in “Supernaturally” as she was in “Paranormalcy”.

For moving on, I have to admit that I enjoyed Reth coming back. I still like him, even if he isn’t the the nicest person in the supernatural world. But I like how calm and confident he is. But I couldn’t say the same about new character Jack. To be honest, I hated that boy from first appearance. It was obvious that this boy is full of… bad ideas. Even I didn’t wanted to be right. It was just way to obvious! Although I must admit that I didn’t expected that Jack would be able to find all those monsters to attack Evie. He impressed me at that point.

What I want to point out, that it’s not the case that I hated “Supernaturally”. I actually liked it, just not as much as I thought that I will. Also, it took me over 20 days to read this book and that’s a lot. Because if I’m into the book I can read about 400 pages in one day 🙂

QUOTES THAT I LIKED:

  • “Sometimes I wanted to take a memory – one perfect memory – curl up in it, and go to sleep.”
  • “Jack might look my age, but he was like a little kid on a sugar high – in need of a good spanking. – Good heavens, that sounded creepy.”
  • “I nodded and smiled enthusiastically. “Party!”
    “Lend’ll whine.”
    “He’s cute when he whines.”
    “There’s something wrong with you,” she said.
    There were a lot of things wrong with me, but loving Lend was definitely not one of them.”
  • “Arianna, what’s up?”
    “Is there a reason there’s a blond boy jumping on your bed, or should I kill him?”
    “Don’t bother,” I growled. “I’ll kill him myself.”
  • “Knowing where I came from didn’t change who I was.”
Leave a Reply

