Book Reviews

Book Review: “Emotions” by Arnulfo Contarero

25886430
Cover illustrator Kiyomi Sakamoto

Title: Emotions
Author: Arnulfo Contarero
Genre: Science Fiction
Publicated: May 15, 2013
Pages: 347
Publisher:
Book:
Provided by author in exchange for an honest review
My rating: 7/10

SYNOPSIS:
Jason Ariaz is not your average 22 year old. He has been genetically and cybernatically enhanced but that’s only the beginning. He is an emotionless extraterrestrial born to human parents and living amongst us. Both him and his implanted thinking computer were damaged on landing and must go through life as less than what they really are. The purpose of their mission: to gain permanent emotions from the more primitive society that is Earth. If he is successful, he will be the first of his species to do so in nearly 200,000 years.
Hope lies in the fact that he is capable of emotional episodes and he has been able to forge true friendships. However, he does have the chance of completing his mission if he can truly care for Ariel, the closest human in his life. But he better know his heart soon. Their lives are in danger of ending tonight, unless he can recover what his species has lost.

REVIEW:
(*spoilers alert*)

I want to start with pros of this book that I really loved it. Firstly, I enjoyed that author touched important themes. For example, how Jason saved the girl from prostitution in India or that tiger from hunters. Also, I loved how Jason and Computer friendship was built. It wasn’t like they call each other “friend” from the start, it growned into them, even if the guy didn’t felt a thing. But Jason learned how to trust Computer not just follow the instructions. It was really nice and quite well written. Other thing that I impressed me was Ariel, but not because he finally felt inlove with her. For me they were much more interesting as friends, not lovers. Ariel actually helped Jason to look into the world from different point of view. When she showed Jason how to really listen to music is good example of that. She was able to show the guy that things that you can’t touch or understand is really important too.

Screenshot_2016-03-25-15-55-30-1.png
Thank you to Arnulfo Contarero for sending me a copy of his book for honest review

Now about the cons… One of the biggest things that I didn’t liked was the ending. It was to sweet and to perfect for me. I would like so more drama, maybe. For example, if Stephanie would have showed but, but as a villain not Jason sister or as both. Maybe even make the guy choose between her and Ariel. Not in romantic kind of way, but between his species and humans. By the way, was that just me or it was quite obvious that Stephanie is alien just like Jason? How he didn’t understand that if I could? Shouldn’t he and Computer be the smartest ones? However, it wasn’tsuch a big things that I didn’t liked. It was more like the personality of Jason didn’t impressed me. And, liked I said, I disliked ending the most. All that bubble and human friends being so too okay with all the news… I don’t know. Just didn’t felt real. But aliens aren’t real too, right?

One more thing that bother me was main character pain. Not that I don’t liked it, I just felt sorry for Jason when he got shot all the time. Also, beaten and hurt in other ways. He didn’t care about the pain and emocionally it didn’t effect me. But when I created those scenes in my head – I felt pity for the guy. But Arnulfo promised me that Jason is a tough guy and can handle all that and more 🙂

To sum up things, I really liked this book, because it’s one of those rare sci-fi books that I had good time with it. It don’t happen that often that I would enjoy this genre, but Arnulfo Contarero work quite impressed me 😉

QUOTE THAT I LIKED:

  • “To be incredibly powerful one moment and then nothing more than a thinking stone could drive anyone crazy.”
1 thought on “Book Review: “Emotions” by Arnulfo Contarero”

Leave a Reply

