Book Reviews

Book Review: “To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before” by Jenny Han

15749186
Original cover

Title: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before (#1)
Author: Jenny Han
Genre: YA / Contemporary / Romance
Series: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before
Publicated: April 15, 2014
Pages: 368 (Hardcover)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Book: Library book
My rating: 9/10

SYNOPSIS:
To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.

to-all-the-boys-imagery

REVIEW:
* spoiler alert *
To be honest, it’s been a while since the I read a book per day. But this time those 322 pages (of Lithuanian version) wasn’t a problem, I even wanted more.

At first I felt kind of critical about book idea and specially about Lara’s Jean’s age. I rare can look seriously at 16 year old, who tell that she/he is inlove. I’m 21 (will be in April) and I have never really been inlove. So kids shouldn’t be too. However, when I started to read this book I saw that this isn’t the case. Lara Jean didn’t really loved those guys, she just admired them. Those feelings was normal for girl her age and I liked that a lot. I think that Jenny Han did a wonderful job with showing teenager girl feelings and world. How Lara Jean wanted Margot to approve what she do, how she tried her best to be good sister and daughter and all other casual things. It was really beautifully and realistically written. Also, it impressed me how Lara Jean didn’t thought twice before doing something quite crazy (liked kissing Peter or telling Josh that they are dating), becauce it was all new to her. She wasn’t thad kind of person, who get into action, now sadanlly she decided to “press the gas”. That was cute and hilarious 💓

IMG_20160313_142527
Lithuanian version of the book

What I also liked, that there wasn’t the thing for finding out who sent those letters. They did so they did, that doesn’t matter all that much anymore. I was affraid that the hunt will begin and she will meet someone new and blah, blah, blah… But I didn’t get any of that. Moreover, I enjoyed that little scene where Peter stoped his car and even offered his help to Lara Jean, when she crashed the car. That showed that deep down he is really a good person, even if he show himself as a d*ck. And that Peter didn’t forget his former friend just because he got popular and tough. I think it was well played that Peter noticed her just before he get the letter.

Next thing that I liked was main character’s friendship with that crazy, sluty girl Chris. It showed how people from two different worlds can be friends without judging one another. And even if Kris is kind of a bitch, when Lara Jean felt hurt – she was there for her and just holded her like a real friend. That was nice detail of the story. At the start I was little worried that Kris will try to change Lara Jean when will Margot leave, but she didn’t. She talked about that, but didn’t pushed her friend.

Talking about Margot…. I felt little weird because I kind of wanted Lara Jean and Josh to be together. They friendship was so beautiful and they fit together. But he slept with Margot, so it would be so wrong for them to be together. It was even awkward when he kissed her, but I loved how Peter reacted. Further, I hated all that Peter-Genevieve sh*t going on, but liked Peter as a person. It was obvious that under that horrible personality is a guy, who don’t really know where he belong. He did what people expect him to do, until he get Lara’s Jean’s letter. I think that the letter made Peter think about a boy he use to be.

So, “the couple”. That was cute and funny, and just… I loved it. Idea wasn’t very original, but well played. It was helful to both of them and not only to fool peolpe they wanted to trick, but also for getting better view of theirselfs. It changed them both for the good. Oh, and how I loved Peter’s reaction when Lara Jean told him about kiss with Josh. That was the best! Finally I believed that he does have feelings for this little, weird girl.f656197495a8cec4eac051bbc8e6e502

Now what I didn’t enjoyed much. And this time list is quite short. I hated everything about Genevieve, I hated Margot and her being a boss of everything. Kitty kind of annoyed me, but sometimes she was funny and cool. Also, I wanted more of Peter and Genevieve storie, why he was keep going to her house, was he sleeping with her… And that’s pretty much all what I didn’t enjoyed much. Well, maybe I could add that there could be more of Luke, I liked him. Maybe in the second book 🙂

QUOTES THAT I LIKED:

  • “Life doesn’t have to be so planned. Just roll with it and let it happen.”
  • “I don’t have to be so afraid of good-bye, because good-bye doesn’t have to be forever.”
  • “I wonder what it’s like to have that much power over a boy. I don’t think I’d want it; it’s a lot of responsibility to hold a person’s heart in your hands.”
  • “If love is like a possession, maybe my letter are like my exorcisms”
  • “Plenty of people are good-looking. That doesn’t make them interesting or intriguing or cool.”
  • “Margot would say she belongs to herself. Kitty would say she belongs to no one. And I guess I would say I belong to my sisters and my dad, but that won’t always be true. To belong to someone—I didn’t know it, but now that I think about, it seems like that’s all I’ve ever wanted. To really be somebody’s, and to have them be mine.”
  • “Just because a girl is sad, it doesn’t mean it has anything to do with PMS.”
1 thought on “Book Review: “To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before” by Jenny Han”

Leave a Reply

