Book Reviews

Book Review: “Solitaire” by Alice Oseman

20618110Title: Solitaire
Author: Alice Oseman
Genre: YA / Contemporary
Series:
Publicated: July 31st, 2014
Pages: 368 (US version)
Publisher: Harper Collins Children’s Books
Book: Library book
My rating: 5/10
Reading time: 2016 March 4-13

SYNOPSIS:
In case you’re wondering, this is not a love story.
My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year – before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of A-Levels and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people – I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that’s all over now.
Now there’s Solitaire. And Michael Holden.
I don’t know what Solitaire are trying to do, and I don’t care about Michael Holden.
I really don’t.
This incredible debut novel by outstanding young author Alice Oseman is perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and all unflinchingly honest writers.

REVIEW:
*spoiler alert*

I didn’t enjoy this book as much I hoped that I will. So I gonna start this time with things that I didn’t liked all that much and I will let you know what I enjoy in the end.

Starting with the main idea of the book – the group who called their self Solitaire… Well, here is where I felt the most disappointed. I expected some intense action, full of mystery and danger maybe. But those pranks was quite childish and boring, even when turned to the bad consequences. Moreover, pretty soon got obvious that if not Michael then Luke is up with that. I thought it’s both of them, however I didn’t missed much. To be honest, I expected that it could even be Charlie or Nick, but I’m glad that they wasn’t.

What also didn’t impressed me that I felt like there is nothing going on. I could feel Tori, I been where she was and yet, nothing seemed real to me. I read few other reviews, where people say that they think Alice Oseman realistically described how teenager feels, how pessimist mind works. But somehow this book didn’t convinced me. I have many things in common with Tori, but I couldn’t find the connection between us. I mean, I have to admit, first chapter or two really impressed me. Because Tori was a lot like me – it was interesting and fun to read about her/myself. I liked her life as well. It wasn’t perfect, but nobody has that.Sadly, that tie broke down.

Screenshot_2016-04-07-19-54-44-1.png
Lithuanian version of the “Solitaire”

CHARACTERS: Nick and Charlie was my favorite characters in all book. After I started to dislike Tori, they was actually the only ones that I liked. They just seemed like a nice, loyal people and I appreciate that. I just didn’t liked that there was full explanation about Charlie illness. Next Michael… He was too suspicious and annoying. I still don’t understand how he knew that Luke is in Solitaire. And talking about Luke – the guy is just crazy. There is really better ways to show love than attack people. And just after fire in school he was already over Tori and into her best friend. Am I the only one who laughed at that? 😀 As for other characters – they just faded away from my memory, so I guess they are not worth of time.

So the good part: what I liked! First thing, I loved that Tori’s and Charlie’s parent was so acceptable with their son being gay. Next thing, how Michael tried to help Tori feel better even she didn’t want that. Like I sait, that guy really annoyed me, however I liked his gentle attention to Tori 🙂 But biggest thing for what only it was worth to read this book was that this story wasn’t about falling inlove. Yes, that was a thing, but not under the spot light. Book showed life of torned girl and how weird events make her think about what she is doing wrong. “Solitaire” didn’t made me feel much, but it’s nice that someone write this kind of book 🙂

QUOTES THAT I LIKED:

  • “As far as I’m concerned, I came out of the womb spouting cynicism and wishing for rain.”
  • “But books–they’re different. When you watch a film, you’re sort of an outsider looking in. With a book–you’re right there. You are inside. You are the main character.”
  • “I think you should know that I make up a lot of stuff up in my head and then get sad about it. I like to sleep and I like to blog. I am going to die someday.”
Leave a Reply

