GuT Reading Time

Bookish Blog About Me, You & Books

Book Review: “Our Demons, Best Friends” by Diana T. Scott

25526216Title: Our Demons, Best Friends
Author: Diana T. Scott
Genre: New Adult / Romance
Series: Half of me, #1
Publicated: May 10th, 2015
Pages: 326 (Paperback)
Publisher:
Book: Provided by author in exchange for an honest review
My rating: 8/10
Reading time: 2016 March 21 – April 3

SYNOPSIS:
Ava and Sebastian are two medical residents who in a perfect world, would really like each other. But both of them are closely watched by their demons. Their baggage is not light – Ava has hers carefully folded in vacuum bags to occupy as little room as possible; Sebastian wears his like a lead armor that makes him slouch sometimes. They like each other, but how are their demons going to get along?

REVIEW:
*spoiler alert*

To be honest, I have no idea where should or could I begin to talk about this book! Probably what matter the most is the fact that Diana T. Scott was kind enough to send me ARC of her book all way to Lithuania. I really wanted to read this book, because not only the cover is absolutely beautiful, but synopsis intrigued me as well. So, in short term – I was pretty much dying when author agreed to send me this gorgeous book! Moreover, it’s my second ARC book. First one was “Emotion” by Arnulfo Contarero, but let’s talk about “Our Demons, Best Friends”.

The theme. Oh, how I loved the fact that book is about medical residents. I mean, “Grey’s Anatomy” (everybody knows this TV show, right?) sparked love for this theme in me. I don’t want to say that I expected to see something much a like that TV show. I really didn’t. I was curious to have peek at Diana’s imagination while writing this story. Synopsis looks promising. First thing, I liked that characters aren’t teens anymore, because even I enjoy YA genre – sometimes I need breath of fresh air. And this book gave it to me. Moreover, story involve about two so different people, but both of their worlds are built on pain pervaded foundation. I have dark demons from past myself, so I related myself with Ava and Sebastian so much. edit

Characters. Let’s begin with Ava, however we see the story from her point of view. At the start I felt quite critical about her. I’m not sure why, but something didn’t let me just like her. But soon I felt her. Not just started to like her or understand, but actually felt it! I been there where she came from. I lost my brother and even if that was different circumstances – the pain is horrible. You want to die, so that your sibling could live and it hunts your forever, even if you disable to change anything. And because of that I’m glad that Diana created Ava as strong person, who wasn’t only trying to live her life to the fullest, but wanted to help people (not only heal them as doctor, but be there for them emotionally). I enjoyed, how Ava let hurted father scream on her, because he needed that. He was scared and lost, and just needed to get it of his shoulders. I’m proud of her.

Second important character, obviously, is Sebastian“the tattooed Greek god, with a man bun.”. I couldn’t say that it was love at first sight for us, but I felt fond of him quite quick. Sebastian has this dark charming energy which kind of pouring out from text. I hadn’t emotional connection with him as I had with Ava, but I could really understand him. Why he backed down, why he was so closed and reserved. It’s good that Sebastian met Ava, they fit for eatch other perfectly and it was beautiful to read them falling for eatch other. It happened in light, heartbreaking and lovely rhythm. It was beautiful and Diana should feel proud of her work πŸ™‚ By the way, Sebastian inside jokes was so adorable. I need more.

To continue, I’m not going to talk about all characters, but I feel the need to mention that I totally hate Emily! She is annoying and overwhelming. I wanted her to disappear and it’s all what I can say about her. She and that doctor d*ck head was only characters, which was unpleasant to me. Others was quite interesting and fun to read about it. I liked that Sebastian and Eva surrounded theirselves with good people, which they can trust. Their relationship was well written.

IMG_20160321_163015.jpgOther things that I enjoyed. One of the most pleasant thing was style and structure of the text. Having in mind that book is about medical residents – I expected lots of medical terms, but there was only few of those. For me (English is my second language) it’s a good thing, because it didn’t complicated text. I had no problem with understanding what was written and I appreciate that. Also, book is well written, easy and fast to read. “Our Demons, Best Friends” is a really good book! It’s not stuffed with drama or gasps. You don’t get those huge ups and downs, but that’s the thing. That make the book look more real. It’s believable!

However, there is few reasons why the book got 8 and not 10. The most important part that wasn’t good enough for my was the residents theme. I wanted more of that hospital-doctors life. Yes, we wondered around the halls, but met only few patients and like two real doctors? It looked like everything is just about Ava and Sebastian as personalities, so sometimes their lives as future doctors felt kind of left out of frame. Next thing, even Ava was built as nice, strong human being – she was too sweet for my taste. Maybe it was problem for me because I’m more… darker person than she is. Of course, I’m not saying that being like her is bad thin. Not at all! I just expected some more anger inside her, because of her lost. At that point I’m more like Sebastian, I think. Until I written that down I haven’t noticed it. Also, I hate surprises! I mean, small ones created by one person are okay. But then company try something like that – I honestly hated. So, when Ava’s friends called her mom without her knowing about… IMG_20160325_145212Uch.. I wanted to shake her! How is that okay? There is nothing okay with that! I don’t enjoy people going behind my back, even if that was done to make Ava happy. I mean, I’m that person who would walk out of her surprise party and probably call the cops, because someone invaded my home! πŸ˜€

To finish up. I really loved this book and I want to re-read it. And maybe I went to far with this review, it became long and maybe boring, but there is a lot I could and want to say about “Our Demons, Best Friends”. So if anyone want to discuss about it – feel free to contact me πŸ˜‰ By the way, sorry for poor language skills. I’m still working on my grammar and it’s 1:00am in Lithuania right now.

QUOTES THAT I LIKED:

  • ,,So maybe, for me, home is not the city, but the people.”
  • ,,He was really trying to be my friend, without all the emotional baggage we both carried – mine still with me, but carefully folded in vacuum bags so they’d occupy as little room as possible and his, hangin on his shoulders like lead armor, making him slouch sometimes. And yet, as pinned down as he was, he was the one comforting me, supporting not only his weight but mine, too. It wasn’t fair.”
  • ,,He smells so damn good. Like my favorite song.”
  • ,,He’s just… mean. Or gay.
    No, he’s not gay. I asked…
    Mean it is, then.”
  • ,,He closed his eyes and murmured “I’m an idiot.”
  • ,,I’m kidding, I wouldn’t eat cow. I love cows. Cows are pretty.”
  • ,,My demons love your demons like crazy”
  • ,,I knew tomorrow would be another battle, one that a few days back I wouldn’t have even considered, but in that moment it was all I wanted to do. To be there, fighting. For you”
  • ,,I fell in love with you in a blink of an eye, Ava. You represented everything I could ever want and the one thing I was most terrified to ask for. The power of what I was feeling scared me to my very core and made me love you and hate myself for being the wrong man for you”
Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Book Review: “Our Demons, Best Friends” by Diana T. Scott

  1. Pingback: International Giveaway On Bookstagram!!! | GuT Reading Time

Leave a Reply

Meraki candles

bookish candles and subscription boxes

Bookish Kirra

Reading all the books and reviewing them! *spoilers always marked*

Bibliophile Gathering

Turn Pages Together

The Biblio Life

Bringing you YA and fiction/fantasy book news, reviews, and more!

rachaelrexds

β€œIn books I have traveled, not only to other worlds, but into my own.”

Fourpawsbooks

The book review blog from fourpawsbooks on Instagram

Anna Jakobsson Lund

Swedish writer of speculative fiction

OpalsBookJems

My Bibliophie Lifestyle

Books Wake Us!

Knygos, kinas, kultΕ«ra

geniereads

books and wishes

SaVi Book Adventures

Sharing my conversations with books and fandoms

The Reader's Block

Get what you need to turn the page

The Coffeeholic Bookworm

reading books while sipping coffee

abooknation

Book reviews, recommendations and more

My So Called Chaos

Reviews of life, love and books.

