Book Reviews

Book Review: “The Future of Us” by Jay Asher & Carolyn Mackler

10959277Title: The Future of Us
Author: Jay Asher ; Carolyn Mackler
Genre: Young Adult / Romance / Science Fiction / Contemporary
Series:
Publicated: November 21st, 2011
Pages: 356 (Hardback)
Publisher: Razorbill
Book: Library book
My rating: 9/10
Reading time: 2016 April 21 (per one day)
ISBN13: 9781595144911

SYNOPSIS:
It’s 1996, and Josh and Emma have been neighbors their whole lives. They’ve been best friends almost as longโ€”at least, up until last November, when Josh did something that changed everything. Things have been weird between them ever since, but when Josh’s family gets a free AOL CD in the mail, his mom makes him bring it over so that Emma can install it on her new computer. When they sign on, they’re automatically logged onto their Facebook pages. But Facebook hasn’t been invented yet. And they’re looking at themselves fifteen years in the future.

By refreshing their pages, they learn that making different decisions now will affect the outcome of their lives later. And as they grapple with the ups and downs of what their futures hold, they’re forced to confront what they’re doing rightโ€”and wrongโ€”in the present.

MY REVIEW:
*spoiler alert*

I want to start with honest note, so I must say that I took this book from library without much curiosity. Just people in Lithuania keep talking about it, so I thought – why not. Even if most of the time I feel disappointed of the book that I have chosen because of other people talks. To my surprise, this time was way different.

The story & style. I couldn’t say that I was left mind blowed. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed the story a lot. However, I wanted something behind Facebook. I understand that that was the point – don’t concentrate on what or where it came from. But I’m that kind of person, who like some answers. So yeah, I was left hanging on that one. I would enjoy to know, does that Facebook showed real future possibilities or the point was just to show Josh and Emma that they have to think about today not about 15 years from now. And that disk… where it actually came from? Who is behind that? Future Emma or Josh? Some aliens? I want to know!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

However, even I can’t get all I want to, it doesn’t had any influence on my rating on “The Future of Us”. It was well written, so I finished this book in a day. I liked how easy to read and light it is, even story develope about future plans, what isn’t easy or light thing. Neither of us know what could possible go wrong tomorrow and Josh with Emma get ahead on 15 years! I mean, I would like to know about my life after all this time, but at the same time – I would hate it, specially, if my future wouldn’t look good. Probably, I would react the same as Emma did. Talking about that…

13059501_1174782355895813_856500418_n.jpg
Lithuanian cover

 

The characters.
Emma. I didn’t liked her all that much. I understood her style of relationship and fear of getting to close to someone. Yet, even I understood everything about Emma, I wasn’t able to feel her. It’s weird, because we are a lot a like. In her situation I would have done lots of thing the same, our minds work similar at some point (definitely not all). And yet, there was something that didn’t let me to feel connection with her.

All different talk is about Josh. Again, I didn’t had as many things in common as with Emma, but hell see – I could relate so much! Josh was able to look at everything little more rational, with normal fear to srew his future. I feel like that everyday, so I really could imagine how the boy felt.

To be honest, I liked pretty much all characters, even those who annoyed me. The thing is that Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler created very realistical, down to eart characters. They all look believeble to me and that one of the best thing in this book.

The feels . “The Future of Us” didn’t get me super high or low, when we talk about emotions. To my surprise, I enjoyed that quite a lot. Maybe it was the reason why I finished the book so fast. The best part – it didn’t annoyed me (maybe just a little, that it took so long for Emma to see that here future start now and here, not some years after in hell knows what country ir city). Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler have written cute, charming book with deeper idea. You don’t need to rush to your future. Enjoy this day, because happines must be built now and not 15 years from today ๐Ÿ˜‰

I must add that I was ready to kill someone, if Emma and Josh would have not end up together! After all that crazy stuff hapenning they had at least try things out. I’m glad that Emma finally saw it to and gave the boy a chance ๐Ÿ™‚

QUOTES THAT I LIKED:

  • ,,When the right moment appears, the key is to not let it pass.โ€
  • ,,I’ve always protected myself when it comes to love. And maybe that’s the problem. By not letting myself get hurt now, it ripples into much bigger pain later.โ€
  • ,,They were like two magnets who couldn’t decide whether to attract or repel.โ€
  • ,,People grow apart, and sometimes, there nothing anyone can do about it.โ€
  • ,,Yes, it feels great to plan your life when you believe everything can turn out fine. But what about when you’re shown, again and again, how little control you have over anything? No matter what I do to try to fix my future, it doesn’t work.โ€
  • ,,Rejection always hurts, but having it come from my best friend was the worst.โ€
  • ,,One little ripple started today could create a typhoon fifteen years from now.โ€
  • ,,Why would anyone say this stuff about themselves on the Internet? It’s crazy!โ€
  • ,,Josh turns to me. โ€œI canโ€™t believe sheโ€™s writing these things.โ€
    โ€œNot she,โ€ I say. โ€œMe.โ€
    โ€œWhy would anyone say this stuff about themselves on the Internet? Itโ€™s crazy!โ€
    โ€œExactly,โ€ I say. โ€œIโ€™m going to be mentally ill in fifteen years, and thatโ€™s why my husband doesnโ€™t want to be around me.โ€
  • ,,I didn’t humiliate him by pointing it out because that’s not how you treat friends. You don’t judge them. You don’t humiliate them. I bet he’s been judging me all along.โ€
  • ,,As she does, she turns her hand over, lacing her fingers into mine. For as many nerve endings as I thought I had in my hand, I now realize there are a hundred times more.โ€
  • ,,Josh is loving and kind, and he knows me better than anyone. He knows the real me, and he likes me for who I am. Josh is…Josh. And now he’s gone. I press my wet face into my pillow. This is what heartbreak feels like.โ€

 

1 thought on “Book Review: “The Future of Us” by Jay Asher & Carolyn Mackler”

Leave a Reply

