Book Reviews

Book Review: “Love story” by Jennifer Echols

9470371Title: Love story
Author: Jennifer Echols
Genre: Romance / New Adult / Contemporary
Series: โ€“
Publicated: July 19th, 2011
Pages: 243 (Paperback)
Publisher: MTV Books
Book: Library book
My rating: 3/10
Reading time: 2016 April 29 – May 09

SYNOPSIS:
*spoilers alert*

She’s writing about him. He’s writing about her. And everybody is reading between the lines…

For Erin Blackwell, majoring in creative writing at the New York City college of her dreams is more than a chance to fulfill her ambitions–it’s her ticket away from the tragic memories that shadow her family’s racehorse farm in Kentucky. But when she refuses to major in business and take over the farm herself someday, her grandmother gives Erin’s college tuition and promised inheritance to their maddeningly handsome stable boy, Hunter Allen. Now Erin has to win an internship and work late nights at a coffee shop to make her own dreams a reality. She should despise Hunter . . . so why does he sneak into her thoughts as the hero of her latest writing assignment?

Then, on the day she’s sharing that assignment with her class, Hunter walks in. He’s joining her class. And after he reads about himself in her story, her private fantasies about him must be painfully clear. She only hopes to persuade him not to reveal her secret to everyone else. But Hunter devises his own creative revenge, writing sexy stories that drive the whole class wild with curiosity and fill Erin’s heart with longing. Now she’s not just imagining what might have been. She’s writing a whole new ending for her romance with Hunter. . . . except this story could come true.

REVIEW:

Where should I start with this book… Maybe with the fact that I don’t understand why people say so many good thins about it? Or the fact that “Going Too Far” was quite better? I didn’t liked it. I mean, it was readable, but disappointing. But don’t forget that it’s only my personal opinion, I’m not saying that the book is bad or anything. That I don’t like it – doesn’t mean others should dislike it as well ๐Ÿ˜‰

The story & style. It was way to easy to predict for my liking. I could easily skip pages or even chapters and there still wouldn’t be any problem with catching up with events. To be honest, this book for me was just telenovela written down and put in New York. The thing is – I hate telenovelas! But at least it was written okay, so it was quite fast and easy to read, even if I wasn’t enjoying.

I really don’t want insult the author or reader, who enjoyed this story. However, for me “Love story” was just one, huge clichรฉ. By chapter 10 nothing had happened yet and in all book nothing impressed me. Well… Actually there was one thin. In page 163 (of Lithuanian version) Erin got hit by a taxi and that was the best scene in all book. I have to admit that in page 160 I wanted a bus to hit so bad that I almost threw the book thru the damn window. For my big surprise after three pages I got what I wanted! I loved that ๐Ÿ™‚

One more thing. I thought will be more to those stories they written to eacth other. I mean, they where there for as to see, but didn’t effected me. I just felt like key point or normal explanaition about them was missing.

20160509_121249
Lithuanian cover

 

The characters.

Erinย Blackwell – annoyingly stupid girl! I didn’t liked her at all. She is/was full of foolish decisions that stood up even next to Elena Gilbert from “The Vampire Diaries” series. The biggest difference: I hated Elena and only dislike Erin. I mean, I don’t get it why for hell’s sake Erin went to that stupid party in the dorms, if she didn’t want to go? Good friend would never ask that and great friend would totally understand that you don’t want to and would leave you alone.

Hunter Allen – well… I don’t have any strong opinion about him. He was kind of there, but didn’t actually give me any emotions. His charms was cute, but not effective. I couldn’t understand what Erin saw in him. In other hand, Erin wasn’t very smart, so it kind of make sense.

Gabe was the only character that I actually liked. That teacher just got this interesting vibes around him and I appreciated that. All other characters just didn’t stayed in my memory for longer time than five pages.

The Feels. The only feeling I had was – anger. It really annoyed me so much that few times I almost made the decision just to put book to the side and pick another one. However, I wanted to finished it and move on rather than give up. But, honestly, ending was horrible! It was only time when my curiosity was built and what I get? NO DAMN ANSWERS. I made me so angry. It felt like chapter of the book was missing. Maybe it was? Because I don’t see any other good reason just to keep things hanging. So did they end up together? Did Hunter became a doctor? Did Erin published a book or went back to be a horse lady like her grandmother? Did someone pushed that old b** from the damn stairs? Is there is second book that I don’t know about it? Please, someone just tell me!

P.S. it’s my worst review ever, because I don’t remember anything specific about the book, only the fact that I didn’t enjoyed ๐Ÿ˜€

QUOTES THAT I LIKED:

  • โ€œYour love for me was a symptom that your brain hadnโ€™t developed.โ€
1 thought on “Book Review: “Love story” by Jennifer Echols”

Leave a Reply

