Bookish Adventures, Interviews

13 questions with J.F.Johns!

Hello there!

This is my first EVER interview with an author!

Jazmin Fernandez Johns

And not with any author, but with a really sweet and kind person J.F.Johns. Did you knew her full name is Jazmin Fernandez Johns? Also that by age 23 this girl have accomplished some impressive stuff? But you can found that information in the author introduction on Goodreads. The most important thing for us is that Jazmin published not one or two books in the past year, but three! Three dystopia books that must be read! She even got a tattoo to honor writing and books. But for now let’s get to the 13 questions that I had for her 😉

  1. What have you written so far and why you think it’s worth reading?
I’ve written three books so far. The first and second book in my trilogy; ‘Eternal Darkness’ (book 1) and ‘Eternal Darkness Oblivion’ (book 2). I also wrote a novella, six short stories about some of the characters from the trilogy, called ‘Cyborg Tales’.
I think that if you like dystopian stories you will enjoy my books. They have a little bit of everything; action, drama, love and adventure!
All 3 of J.F.Johns books
  1. What time of the day is your favorite to write?
In the evening! After about 6 o’clock! I have a really crazy schedule, so lately if I want to write I have to do it really late at night (which I hate because I’m usually so sleepy I can’t concentrate!). My ideal time to write is in the evening with a nice cup of warm tea or coffee!
  1. When have you decided to start writing in the first place?
I always wanted to write, even when I was really small! Before I could write, I would draw the stories in my head like comic books, so I guess it’s something I’ve always wanted to do!
  1. How your birth place have influenced your texts?
I’ve lived in a few different places growing up. I was born in the Canarian Islands (which are 7 islands very close to the continent of Africa, but the islands belong to Spain). Those islands are generally warm all year round, dry and not very green. Then I moved to the capital of Spain, Madrid, which is a city full of tall buildings and a lot of people! A year later, we moved from the very centre to the outskirts, which is full of forests and fields. And then I moved to England, which is very green. I think all these different landscapes helped to shape the different ‘Capitals’ in my book, because each Capital is very unique with very different landscapes.
  1. How have you decided which genre is the one that you want to concentrate your books about?
I never really stopped to think what genre I would write in. I get an idea in my head, sometimes it might be fantasy, or drama, or romance… But I generally enjoy Dystopia. I love the idea of coming up with different visions of the future and what could happen.
  1. I’m sure that you set some goals before publishing first book. Which of them have you accomplished by now?
Before publishing the book I was terrified that everyone would hate it. It was nice to see that most people that read the book gave it high ratings! And I won the Next Generation Indie Book Awards, which is something I never thought I would accomplish!
  1. The week is almost over, it’s Sunday evening. What do you do to relax and get ready for the new week?
I usually try and do what I love but don’t have time for during the week; watch a movie, read a book and do some writing! And then complain for about half an hour about hating Mondays!
  1. What or who is your spirit animal?
I think my spirit animal would be a dark grey wolf!
  1. What is that one thing that you are not afraid anymore?
I used to be really scared of people reading my books because I thought everyone would hate them! But now I’m not. I think I’ve become more courageous and brave towards the whole process of writing, publishing and having people critic your work!
Tattoo that J.F.Johns got to honor books and writing
  1. For what kind of food you could never say “no”?
Pizza and chocolate!!!!!
  1. Do you still remember the moment when you were told that your book will be published?
I remember the day my book arrived in the mail and I opened the box and saw it! I almost cried at the sight. It was awesome! Even after three published books, I still get crazy when a new one arrives and I get to see it for the first time.
  1. Can you share any small secret about your books that people might not know?
There are hidden details within the books. For example, there are certain names of places or people that are references to actual places or people in my life. For example, in the first book, the hospital the main character is taken to is called St. Michael’s. That is in actual fact the name of the school I used to go to!
  1. You can say something to all of your readers right here and now. What do you want them to know?
I would like them to know that no matter how difficult some dreams may seem, you must always try your best to make them happen and one day they will! And a huge thanks to everyone I have met along the way, for the support and love!

 

And here it is! Those 13 things I wanted to ask Jazmin and share with you all. Simple things, details to get better point of view for books and herself.

Back cover of my copy of “Eternal darkness”

It was fun for me, hopefully for everyone else as well. However, if you have more questions for the author – leave them in the comments and I will do my best to get them answered for you. Or even better, you can go to J.F.Johns author page on Goodreads (direct link on “Goodreads” word in the first column) and ask straight to her 😉

Last thing before ending with this interview: please answers the poll bellow.

Leave a Reply

